Sunday, 17 March 2013


This may be of interest to anyone with Sligo connections.
Yeats International Summer School

The Yeats International Summer School began in 1960 and has taken place on an annual basis since. Students and lecturers from every continent of the world gather in Sligo for a two week introduction to the writing and legacy of W. B. Yeats.

Lectures, seminars, poetry readings and workshops are presented by the finest minds of the literature world. Early booking is advisable and some scholarships are available. Check out the Yeats Society website for more details.

   Sligo County Museum opened to the public in 1955 when the former Manse building was converted. The adjoining Presbyterian church now houses Sligo Library and both are located in the heart of charming Sligo Town.

The Museum's collections are divided between the Yeats collection, consisting of a selection of photographs, print, artefacts and memorabilia; and a collection of artefacts and memorabilia associated with Countess Markievicz and her sister, Eva Goore Booth. There is also an accumulation of local artefacts and geological samples.

One of the more unusual local artefacts is a firkin an old English measure) of preserved bog butter.

Admission is free to Sligo County Museum.

 More on Co Sligo

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for dropping by. All comments are moderated before publication.